Email Notification to suspend sending
At times, there are unexpected issues with the main database. Main office notifies staff by email to suspend sending operations and will send an updated email when the problem is resolved. It is important that Collectors check their email at the beginning of each shift AND before sending.
Data Collector Sending Frequency
- when working from hospital site: Monday to Friday 14:30-18:00
- when working from home: Monday to Friday 07:00-09:00
- Do not send outside these hours unless requested by main office.
- Staff to send at the end of each and every shift before they leave. Minimal Data Set applies.
Ongoing preparation during collection
Whenever you complete collection for a patient, set the RecordStatus field to "complete". This runs some routines to check the data and marks the patient for export during the next send.
At any point during collection you might want to run the Pre-send Checker to find errors in your data. This will check on some of the data that we send for patients even if they are not final checked. If you run this occasionally during your collections then your chances of running into errors when you are ready to send become less.
- run News and Backup so you have a backup with the most possible information & also the latest CCMDB.accdb
- NOTE: News and backup does not update the master database. Only the action of sending does.
- check that all patients whom you want to send have the RecordStatus field set to "complete" in the Patient List
- click the Send Records button
- click "OK" and put in your initials (see that article on information to default the initials to your own)
- After sending is complete, exit out of CCMDB.accdb and run News and Backup once again to create a backup of the patients files now remaining in your CCMDB data.mdb.
Deleting Sent Patients
- profiles should be deleted the next shift that the collector works, you can delete sent patients (who now have "sent" in their Record field) by pressing the "Delete Sent Patients" button. The program tells you how many rows are being deleted.
- For PHIA reasons you should not keep "sent" patient records on your laptop.
What happens when patients are sent
See the "Sending" module in CCMDB.accdb itself for info on what happens when data is sent. As of 17:18, 2015 April 30 (CDT) the order of steps inside the process is as follows. Listed here to help in troubleshooting.
- check for previously completed (ie no longer incomplete) records, quit if any found
- send centralized_data.mdb
- send phi xls
- set RecordStatus field to sent in local L_Log table
- set RecordStatus field to sent in Centralized data.mdb
Error messages during sending
Occasionally you will get an error during sending and Access will start an email message for you to send to the office.
Short version: when an error generates an email, please do send us these emails, even if it seems like sending went through. You don't need to delay going home after you send that email, further communication about this can happen at the next shift.
Long version: We have suspected for some time that there are occasional glitches during sending that are not evident from looking at the data. The send process still completes, and the records are still set to "sent", but not everything is getting to the centralized repository as it should. So, we changed our program to trap more errors and to make it as easy as possible to pass them on to us. We need those emails to understand the patterns of these problems, even if all the data is sent, to find out how common these problems are and whether we need to change the program and/or our processes further to prevent the underlying problem. Most of the time Pagasa will check and let you know that all was sent correctly and you can delete the data. You do not necessarily need to wait around after you send the email, just don't delete the batch of data you sent. If something went wrong with it, next day re-send will usually be quick enough. So, really, sending this email should not add to your time spent, so there is no reason not to send it.
Checks hat people are sending inside the Designated sending times